First frost: will the Sawfly larvae survive?

After a very balmy October, we woke to our first frost this morning. I had assumed that the frost would do for our Berberis sawfly larvae, so it was with no great hope of finding any that I went out into the garden around half an hour ago. But to my great surprise, within a few seconds of looking, I’d found a plump one alongside the edge of a nibbled leaf, apparently unfazed by the cold temperature. What do you know!

I didn’t have time to look for more this morning, but yesterday I saw 4 whilst briefly perusing the berberis bush.

Find out more about Berberis sawflies (including photos and videos of eggs, larvae and adults) here

Check out Compost! The (mini-)Musical

Leave a Reply

