Butterflies 2006

We’ve had a few frosts now, so I don’t think we’ll be seeing any more butterflies in the garden this year. A good time, therefore, for my 2006 Garden Butterfly Round-up.

Holly blue butterfly

The first butterfly I saw in 2006 was on 22 March, in Main Street, Fulford (about 1km from our house). I think it was a Peacock, but I couldn’t be sure, as it was high up on a 1st-floor window sill.

Peacock butterfly

The first butterfly I saw (fleetingly) in our garden this year was on 16 April. It flew over the hedge and away before I could identify it. All I can tell you is that it seemed to be orangey.

Comma butterfly

 At the end of October we still had 2 species of butterflies visiting our garden – the  Comma (see above) and the Red admiral (below). The very last butterfly of the year was a Red admiral, in very early November.

Red Admiral

Here is a list (in alphabetical order) of all the butterflies I saw in our garden in 2006:

      Comma
      Green-veined white
      Holly blue
      Large white
      Meadow brown
      Painted lady
      Red admiral
      Small tortoiseshell
      Small white
      Speckled wood.

Speckled wood butterfly

This is the same range as we usually get, though I think we had more Commas this year. There was also a small blue butterfly that I didn’t see well enough to identify. It came to the garden a few times from early May.

Painted lady butterfly

Highlights included photographing a green-veined white on some rocket growing in the veg. patch in July. It wasn’t till I had the photo on my computer screen that I realised the butterfly had actually been laying her eggs (see below).

Green-veined white laying her eggs in our garden, July 06

On 15 September I found a small white caterpillar on the ceiling of the lobby. I don’t know how it got there, but last year I also found one in exactly the same place …

I send my garden butterfly records to the British Trust for Ornithology (BTO). An offshoot of their Garden BirdWatch recording scheme (which I take part in) is their ‘Other Wildlife Survey’ which, alongside butterflies and moths, includes garden sightings of some mammals, reptiles and amphibians.

Leave a Reply

