Surprise visitor: a butterfly

I was chatting with my cousin on the phone yesterday lunchtime when I saw, out of the corner of my eye, something fluttering in the garden.

At first I thought it must have been a bird. A goldfinch perhaps (we have many goldfinches eating the nyger seeds in our bird feeder).

But then I caught sight of it again. It was way too small and flimsy to be a bird. Could it possibly be … a butterfly?

I cut short my phone conversation and dashed out into the garden. There, sunning itself on the warm bricks by the bathroom window, was a large Red admiral butterfly. 

Red Admiral - 29 November 2006 

Two weeks ago I wrote my butterfly round-up of the year, on the assumption that I had long since seen the last butterfly of 2006. But I was wrong.

Will we be seeing butterflies in December this year, I wonder?

Leave a Reply

