New Statesman competition win!

I was leafing through the New Statesman magazine a few weeks ago, when I came across the following competition: readers were invited to write a limerick that encapsulated the plot of a novel or play. What a good idea!

I had great fun coming up with a bunch of such limericks, and I tried them out on the audience of my ‘2009 in Rhyme’ show on Thursday. The audience’s job was to identify each novel – which they were exceedingly good at, as you can hear in the audio clip below:

Then yesterday our copy of the New Statesman arrived, and lo and behold, this very limerick had won the competition – as you can see below. (Click on the image to view it at a larger size)

What did the New Statesman readership make of my limerick? Well, here’s one person’s view that I came across …

And you can now hear all the ‘novel’ limericks I came up with on my ‘2009 in Rhyme’ CD, recorded before a live audience. Can you guess the novels before the audience?

Anneliese Emmans Deaninfo@theBigBuzz.bizwww.theBigBuzz.biz

One thought on “New Statesman competition win!

Leave a Reply

