Edgbaston High School for Girls

It was with some trepidation that I tried out  my Brummie accent on a hall full of pupils at Edgbaston High School for Girls in Birmingham on Friday morning. My attempt was greeted with howls of laughter. Howls of derision? Howls of recognition? Who knows … But I did have a great day at the school!

After my Buzzing! show (about insect girl power in the garden), I set about putting on poetry workshops for the girls in Years 7, 8 and 9. This was a big responsibility, as the poems they wrote are going to be entered into a House Competition for Science Week!

I don’t envy the teachers judging the competition, as the girls came up with some fantastic poems in a vast range of styles, including rap, haikus, free verse and rhyming couplets …

I could tell you more, but it’s my turn to write a poem for a deadline now! I need to go off  and work on the poem I’ve been commissioned to write for the Radio 2 Arts Show this Friday (19th March). I’ve been invited on the show to discuss World Poetry Day with the great Roger McGough and host, Eve Pollard.

Just time now to thank everyone at Edgbaston High School for Girls for their warm welcome, and especially to Caroline Greenwood for all the work she put in to ensure the day ran so smoothly.

See photos of the day here.

Stop press: I’ve since been invited back to work with the Prep School. Looking forward to that enormously!

Anneliese Emmans DeantheBigBuzzinfo@theBigBuzz.biz

Leave a Reply

