Lord Deramore’s Science Week 2010

Congratulations to the pupils at Lord Deramore’s Primary School in Heslington on their Science Week achievements. All the school, from Early Years upwards, took part, and I was lucky enough to be present at their final assembly, where each class demonstrated some of what they’d learnt.

I spent two days at the school as part of their Science Week, working with Years 1 through to 5. I discovered  that Years 1 and 2 make very good millipedes, Years 3 and 4 are excellent budding wildlife photographers, and Year 5 is bursting with strong voices and acting and artistic talent.

But don’t just take my word for it. Here are some of the amazing photos Years 3 and 4 took using my top-secret Wildlife Photography Technique that I taught them:

Painted Lady butterly photographed by Lord Deramore Primary pupil, 11.6.10

Painted Lady butterfly photographed by Lord Deramore Primary pupil, 11.6.10

Harlequin ladybird larva photographed by Lord Deramore Primary pupil, 11.6.10

Harlequin ladybird larva photographed by Lord Deramore Primary pupil, 11.6.10

The children were very observant, finding butterflies,  ladybird larvae, snails, a lacewing, spiderlings, caterpillars, and even a mystery beetle (which I’m still trying to identify) in their school grounds.

And here are some of the performers in Year 5’s rendition of my eco-musical about climate change called Go MAD! – which they learnt in just one day! As you’ll see, they each made a ‘comedy’ or ‘tragedy’ mask for the performance.

Year 5 go MAD! performers, Lord Deramore's Primary School, 11.6.10

Year 5 go MAD! performers, Lord Deramore's Primary School, 11.6.10

Go MAD! performers at Lord Deramore School, 11.6.10

Go MAD! performers at Lord Deramore's School, 11.6.10

I was lucky enough to be part of their Science Week last year too (find out more), and I’d like to thank them for inviting me back this year.

Some of you may know that Lord Deramore’s is the primary school I went to when I was a child, so I have  very soft spot for it …I’m pleased to be able to report that it’s still a very special school, full of  smiling, enthusiastic and helpful staff and children alike. I very much enjoyed my two days there this week.

Anneliese Emmans Deaninfo@theBigbuzz.bizwww.theBigBuzz.biz

Leave a Reply

