Penultimate Buzzing! photo …

As I type this, the wonderful designers at Brambleby Books are busy designing my (soon-to-be-published) Buzzing! book. I have delivered around a hundred of my minibeast photos to them for inclusion in the book, but I have been missing two key photos – until yesterday!

Yesterday, John and Katy invited me to their bee hive here in York.  Katy opened the hive up specially so I could take photos of the honeybees and honeycombs.

Katy opening up her bee hive

Katy opening up her bee hive, York, 30.10.11

I hadn’t realised it would be such an adventure, involving both Katy and me donning protective suits. But what a fabulous adventure! The beauty and industry and precision of the bees was astounding.

Anneliese marvelling at the honeybees, York, 30 October 2011

Anneliese marvelling at the honeybees, York, 30 October 2011

I took lots and lots of photos (getting a fair bit of beeswax on my camera in the process!) so as to be sure to get a good one for my Buzzing! book. Now I just have to decide which photo to use! Will it be this one, I wonder …?

Katy's honeybees at work, York, 31.10.11

Katy's honeybees at work, York, 31.10.11

The photo is to illustrate my honeybee poem, ‘Floella’, which celebrates the geometrical virtuosity of honeybees. Having seen their honeycomb so close up for myself now, I’m even more impressed by them!

Thank you so much to Katy and John for taking the time to share their honeybees with me.

So, now I’m just left with one photo to find. Anyone in the York area got a wasps’ nest I could come and photograph? If so, do email me fast!

Anneliese Emmans Dean – theBigBuzz – Bringing Poetry to Life

Leave a Reply

