Rhymes of the Times 2011

It’s happened once before. Last July I was performing on a barge and was upstaged by … the resident parrot:

Yesterday I was performing in Poppleton, and was upstaged by … a musical tie! Yes, ’tis the season to be jolly, and so Mr Chris Spencer decided to get into the festive spirit by sporting his best novelty Christmas tie to my Rhymes of the Times show. Only he accidentally nudged said tie into action during my show – much to the hilarity (once we’d tracked down the source of the ‘music’) of the rest of us! Take a listen …

Mr Spencer and his musical tie. Poppleton, December 2011

Mr Spencer and his musical tie. Poppleton, December 2011

I performed two Rhymes of the Times shows this week, in which I ran through the events of the past year in satirical poems.  The surprise hit of both shows was one of my February poems, entitled ‘Sports Thoughts’, which you can hear here:

Thank you to everyone who welcomed me so warmly at King’s Manor (where I’d performed my Rhymes of the Times in 2009) and Poppleton Arts (where I’d previously performed my Buzzing! show).

Feedback from both this week’s shows was great:

‘Brilliant!’

‘Made me forget all my aches and pains!’

‘Really, really lovely!’

‘I enjoyed it immensely!’

‘Utterly enjoyable’

‘Wonderful’

Me (Anneliese) with John Craven and Alwyn Taylor after my Poppleton Arts Rhymes of the Times show, December 2011

Me (Anneliese) with John Craven and Alwyn Taylor after my Poppleton Arts Rhymes of the Times show, December 2011

For an entertaining Rhymes of the Times show where you are, contact me, Anneliese: info@theBigBuzz.biz

Meanwhile, you can catch up on all last year’s events in my Rhymes of the Times 2010 Kindle ebook, available from Amazon

Rhymes of the Times 2010 - Cover

Rhymes of the Times 2010, available now for Kindle

Anneliese Emmans Dean – theBigBuzz

Leave a Reply

