Buzzing! book signing in Waterstones

Thank you to Waterstones in York for hosting my first ever Buzzing! book signing event yesterday.

Signing my first Buzzing! books at Waterstones in York, 24 August 2012

Signing my first Buzzing! books at Waterstones in York, 24 August 2012

After the months of intense work the publisher (Brambleby Books), designer and I put in to making Buzzing! the best book we could (not to mention the 8 years or so I spent writing it and taking the photos for it), it was fabulous to be able to share the book with individual children (and grown-ups).

I performed some of the poems for and with them, listened to them reading bits out to me, discussed some of the ‘Factabulous’ facts with them, and dedicated copies to them, their siblings – and even their dogs! Best of all was watching their faces light up with smiles and laughter and amazement at the book’s content.

I very much enjoy performing my poems to groups, e.g. on a school visit or at a festival, but it was very special to be able to share the book and its contents one-on-one with children in a completely unstructured setting, where we could wander from ladybirds to slugs to bees to moths entirely as the fancy took them.

Thank you to everyone who came along to the book signing – especially to Alex who so ably assisted me as a sandwich board (a role he was reprising from a couple of years ago at the Edinburgh Fringe).

Ably assisted at my book signing by sandwich-board Alex, York 24 August 2012

Ably assisted at my book signing by sandwich-board Alex, York 24 August 2012

Wonderfully, all the books were sold bar one (which would have been bought but the lady discovered she’d left her Waterstones vouchers at home!)

Stop Press: Waterstones have  invited me back to do another signing event in their York store in the Spring!

Anneliese Emmans Deanwww.theBigBuzz.biz

Leave a Reply

