Buzzing! in Haxby Library

Well, the weather was kinder this time than the last time I performed at a library in York – when the surrounding flooding was rather dramatic (view photos).  This time it’s New York that’s contending with flooding (and to all those affected by it, I send my best wishes). Here in old York we have blue sky, sunshine and stunning autumn leaves. Perfect weather for minibeast hunting! And for my Buzzing! minibeast show and book signing.

What a haven Haxby Library is! I hadn’t been there before, and was very impressed by the range of books and audiobooks for children and for adults, and by the warm, welcoming atmosphere – due in no small measure to the warm, welcoming librarian Linda.

Linda Parker, Sue Matthews and me at Haxby Library, 1 November 2012

Librarian Linda Parker flanked by Sue Matthews of CYC Library Service and me at Haxby Library, York, 1 November 2012

Our audience included some very knowledgeable children, who jolly well knew their arachnids from their insects! What did they make of my Buzzing! show?

‘It was fun and egecatinol’

‘Funny Poems’

And what did librarian Linda think?

‘I did not know what to expect.  45 minutes of looking at pictures of bugs projected on a screen did not inspire me.  I was very pleasantly surprised and thoroughly enjoyed the event as did all who came. Many thanks for entertaining and educating us all in such a fun way’

Sue Matthews of City of York Library Service said:

‘The children (and me!) were transported to a fabulous, interesting world of mini-beasts. I really enjoyed your animated rendition of the poems.’

Well, that’s all very good to hear!

The cover of Buzzing!, by Anneliese Emmans Dean

The cover of Buzzing!, by Anneliese Emmans Dean

Thank you to Linda and to  Sue Matthews  for joining in with my Buzzing! show, and for being so helpful before, during and afterwards.

Oh, and you may like to know that City of York libraries are carrying out a public consultation at the moment. If you live in York, then do take part! You can find questionnaires at your local library, or online here for grown-ups and here for children.

Whilst preparing to fill in my questionnaire, I discovered that over half the population of York use our libraries, and that they  ‘are amongst the top 10% performing in the country whilst being in the lowest 10% in terms of cost to the taxpayer’.

Long may our excellent libraries continue, say I!

Anneliese Emmans Deanwww.theBigBuzz.biz

Leave a Reply

