A new year, a new photo …

This time last year my photo of a beautiful snowdrop was adorning walls as far afield as Australia (so I was told) as the January photo of a 2012 Marks and Spencer calendar sold in aid of the Woodland Trust:

Snowdrop, by Anneliese Emmans Dean

Snowdrop, by Anneliese Emmans Dean

This week I had a request to use another of my photos in a publication. This time it was a photo of something slightly less appealing. (If you’re not keen on slugs, turn away now!)

Slugs speeding towards our beer trap. Photo by Anneliese Emmans Dean

Slugs speeding towards our beer trap. Photo by Anneliese Emmans Dean

Little did these slugs know as they sped towards this dish of beer in our Yorkshire garden that they were going to become internationally famous! For the request to use the photo came from the Oregon Food Bank, all the way across the pond in the US, to be used in their Seed to Supper course booklet.

Oregon Food Bank’s Learning Gardens Program sounds like a great initiative, and I was only too happy to give permission for my photo to be used.  Ali, their Learning Gardens Program Coordinator, told me a bit about it:

‘Seed to Supper is a comprehensive, 5-week beginning gardening course that gives novice, adult gardeners the tools they need to successfully grow a portion of their own food on a limited budget. Oregon Food Bank and the Oregon State University Extension Service Master Gardener Program offer Seed to Supper classes for free to the public and to host agencies serving low-income clients throughout Oregon.’

Thank you to Ali and the Oregon Food Bank for asking permission to use my photo. I wish their Seed to Supper course every success.

As it happens, I use both my snowdrop photo and this slug photo in my hands-on photography workshops, where I show children, adults and families how to take great nature photos using point-and-shoot cameras.

Learning to take great nature photos on one of my photography workshops

Learning to take great nature photos on one of my photography workshops

If you fancy coming along to one of my photography workshops, or would like me to put one on for you, email me!

Anneliese Emmans Dean www.theBigBuzz.biz – Bringing poetry to life

3 thoughts on “A new year, a new photo …

    • Hi Emily
      Great to hear from you. How are you and your bees doing? These slugs came storming across to the beer trap, and did get well and truly sozzled. By the time I went to bed that night, there were lots of them floating in there. The following morning, they were gone. I assumed a hedgehog had eaten them (and got quite tipsy itself in the process)!

  1. Me and the bees are doing good thanks, in both cases trying to stay warm during this chilly weather! I’m more of a summer person. Alcohol soaked slugs must be quite the delicacy for a hungry hedgehog!

Leave a Reply

