Buzzing! Down Under

You may remember the photo of the beautiful Aaliyah and Zawadi clutching their copies of Buzzing! in South Africa. Well this week I received a photo of another two beautiful little girls each with a copy of my Buzzing! book, but this time they were even further away. Australia, to be precise!

Amelia and Mia buzzing in Melbourne, Australia

Amelia and Mia buzzing in Melbourne, Australia

Australia?! How very exciting!

I have it on good authority that the girls were ‘as pleased as punch’ with the book, and that ‘Shortly after, they both ran off to try and find some of the bugs mentioned in it.’

Well now, I wonder what they will find … . I’ve recently discovered (from reading Dave Goulson’s fascinating book A Sting in the Tail) that there are no bumblebees in Australia. Fancy that. (And fancy my not knowing that!) So they’ll draw a blank there. But I wish them much fun hunting the fabulous minibeast fauna of Down Under.

A big Thank You to Steve for sending me this lovely photo!

Anneliese Emmans Dean – www.theBigBuzz.biz – Bringing poetry to life

3 thoughts on “Buzzing! Down Under

  1. Thanks so much for this post – Amelia is my daughter and little Mia my lovely niece. The girls so enjoyed their books and took them all around the Fitzroy Gardens in Melbourne, seeking out new insect finds. Cheers, Melinda

    • Thank you so much for getting in contact, Melinda. I’m thrilled to hear that! It’s extraordinary for me to think of my book having reached children so far away! I went and looked at your blog this morning, and was very moved by the posts I read about Amelia. I wish you, Amelia and your husband all the very best on your journey together.

Leave a Reply

