Rhubarb, rhubarb, rhubarb

You may recall that back in March at the York Food For Life Awards in March I received a very special lunch invitation:

A very special invitation ...

A very special invitation …

FISH_9178 - EditedLast Thursday was The Big Day! Yes, on Thursday I went to Fishergate Primary School to sample one of their school lunches in the company of many of their – very friendly – pupils.

The pupils were very enthusiastic about the food at their school, and were keen to tell me all about their three-week menu rotation, their salad bar and their baked potato ordering system.

Eating lunch at Fishergate Primary School

One of my lunch companions at Fishergate Primary School

I was assigned two excellent guides for my visit: Thibaut and Mac. They showed me round their lovely school and took me to see their allotment too, which is in their school field. There pupils have raised beds in which they grow many different fruits, veg and herbs. They’re particularly good at growing rhubarb – as you can see below!

Fishergate pupils at their allotment with freshly picked rhubarb

Fishergate pupils at their allotment with freshly picked rhubarb

We were very lucky because Chloe Smee of the Food for Life Partnership was able to join us for lunch and at the allotment. (Fishergate Primary School has been awarded the Bronze Food For Life Award.)

Another highlight of my visit was meeting Daisy, the talented artist who had created my lunch invitation. And I also met some of the catering staff who make the school dinners.

An unexpected special treat was that I was given some of Fishergate’s fantastic rhubarb to take home. My husband has already made it into a delicious cake. Yum!

Thank you to everyone at Fishergate who welcomed me so warmly into their school. I hope that over the coming weeks you’ll enjoy eating the many fruits and veg you’re growing.

Two very helpful Fishergate pupils, justifiably proud of their school

Two very helpful Fishergate pupils, justifiably proud of their school

I’m now looking forward to meeting some more foodie schoolchildren – at the Calderdale Food For Life School Awards Ceremony which is being held in July.

Anneliese Emmans Dean – www.theBigBuzz.biz – Bringing poetry to life

Leave a Reply

