Literary Limerick No. 5

So, how did I choose which novel was to feature in my Literary Limerick No. 5? Well, I met Horatio Clare at a Ryedale Book Festival event last month. We were both on the same bill – a nature-themed day in Scampston Walled Garden. And what a jolly interesting chap Horatio turned out to be!There was an array of his books on sale at the festival bookstall. Being a bird person, I bought the one with a bird in the title: A Single Swallow.

Now, I’m not a travel-book person. Or rather, I didn’t think I was. But Horatio’s book about following the route swallows take from Africa to here was so exquisitely written, so beguiling and entrancing, that I’m going to have to revise my opinion of travel writing!

One of the countries Horatio – and the swallows – visit on their journey is Algeria. Which led me to the book for my next literary limerick. It’s a novel set in Algeria. Can you guess which novel it is?

Did you get it?

I share Horatio’s sentiment: ‘Like so many who are first taught to read French through the strong simplicity of Albert Camus, Algeria to me was Camus’ country.’

If only La Peste didn’t seem so relevant to the times we find ourselves living in …

On a lighter note, try your hand at more of my Literary Limericks here.

Anneliese Emmans Dean- theBigBuzz – Bringing poetry to life

Leave a Reply

