Sing along with ‘Greta’s Song’!

I’ve written you a song. It’s a protest song about climate change. As it’s inspired by words of Greta Thunberg, I’ve called it ‘Greta’s Song’.

I’d love you to sing Greta’s Song with your choir, your ensemble, your school, your college/uni, a friend …

I’d love you to sing it in a concert, or on a protest march or demo – or anywhere inbetween! Anywhere that can help effect change.

And I’d love to see a video of you performing it. A video that I could perhaps stitch together with videos of other people’s performances to create one BIG Greta’s Song climate change protest video!

I’ve created two versions of Greta’s Song for you. One is a four-part (soprano, alto, tenor, bass) version, for those of you who sing in choirs/groups with that configuration. The other is a simple two-part melody + descant version.

You can download the sheet music for the four-part (SATB) version here.

You can download the sheet music for the two-part (melody + descant) version here.

You can get an idea of what the four-part version sounds like here.

And you can get an idea of what the two-part version sounds like here.

Below is a clip of my friends The Barberella’s singing their version of the song. You’ll see they’ve made it into a on-the-move performance with banners and a drum. You may want to do something similar. Or you may wish to just stand still and sing. Or you may have a completely different idea for how to perform it. The decision is entirely up to you. Get your creative juices flowing!


The Barberellas singing an extract from Greta’s Song by Anneliese Emmans Dean

If you’re using the song for commercial purposes, then the usual royalties/licence fees apply. (Contact me for more information.) But for non-commercial purposes (including fundraising events for charities/your choir etc.), I give you permission to download, print and copy these scores and to perform the song with no permissions needed or royalties applied.

I hope you enjoy learning and performing this song, and I look forward to hearing and watching your versions of it from around the world. (For me to be able to stitch various versions together into one video, it would be handy if you could stick as close as possible to the tempi marked here!)

If you don’t fancy sharing your video, then I’d love to see still photos or audio of your performance.

You can email me any of your files (theBigBuzz@gmail.com) or share on Twitter where I’m @theBigBuzzNews (#Greta’sSong), or on facebook/theBigBuzzNews.

The COP27 UN Climate Change Conference is coming up in Sharm El-Sheikh, Egypt, in November of this year. Let’s make some – melodious – noise in the run-up to it!

Anneliese Emmans Dean – theBigBuzz – Bringing poetry to life

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.