National Poetry Day 2009

Not many people will have enjoyed National Poetry Day yesterday as much as I did! I was invited to spend the day with the staff and pupils of Sowerby Community Primary School in Thirsk, North Yorkshire.

Sowerby Community Primary School, North Yorkshire

Sowerby Community Primary School, North Yorkshire

The theme of National Poetry Day this year was ‘Heroes and Heroines’, so I began the day with a Buzzing! show all about my garden heroes and heroines.

After that, I got the chance to work with every class in the school (bar reception). The children wrote some fantastic poems! Take a look, for example, at this fabulous poem that Sunny wrote:

Sunny's poem, written on National Poetry Day 2009

Sunny's poem, written on National Poetry Day 2009

The children at Sowerby are not only talented, they are quick workers too! Before I had left, I was presented with a big pile of  ‘Thank You’ letters, all of which were beautifully illustrated with minibeasts that had featured in my Buzzing! show. Here are a couple of examples:

'Thank You' letter from Ethan

'Thank You' letter from Ethan

'Thank You' letter from Millie

'Thank You' letter from Millie

Aren’t they wonderful? I’ve greatly enjoyed reading every single letter, and send a big ‘Thank You’ in return!

This was my second visit to this lovely school. My first visit was last term during their ‘Nature, Nurture, Nutrition’ week, which celebrated the transformations that had taken place in the school grounds and in its food culture, thanks to Big Lottery and BBC Breathing Spaces funding.  They now have a wildlife garden and pond, a vegetable plot, an apple orchard, a copse, a wildflower meadow …  What an inspiring school, fostering a great love of nature. (I can also vouch personally for the tastiness of the school dinners!)

A beautiful mural at Sowerby Community School

A beautiful mural at Sowerby Community School

Thank you to all the staff and pupils who welcomed me so warmly, and especially to the Head, Mrs Yendall. Her school is an uplifting place to be, with creative, enthusiastic, polite and happy pupils who made National Poetry Day very special indeed for me. I hope I made it special for them too.

STOP PRESS! I’ve since heard from the Head  that: ‘The children kept coming up to me telling me that we should have you back once a week!’ Well, that sounds like mission accomplished for National Poetry Day!

Anneliese Emmans Dean – info@theBigBuzz.bizwww.theBigBuzz.biz

Leave a Reply

