Ladies Who Lunch

Did you know that we have bees to thank for 1 in 3 mouthfuls of food we eat? Given that fact, it struck me that a Buzzing! show celebrating these heroic pollinators would be the ideal way to follow a fabulous lunch at York Racecourse yesterday, where I was invited by the York Women’s Luncheon Club to be the after-dinner speaker.

Members of York Women's Luncheon Club, 4 March 2010
Members of York Women’s Luncheon Club, 4 March 2010

I included other pollinators, such as an array of exquisite butterflies, in my show. Plus those invaluable pest controllers, the ladybirds. I also enlisted the help of my Mum in the show, as she had been invited along by the Ladies to join in the meal too. Thank you, Ma!

The food we had was delicious, and was served in the elegant surroundings of the Gimcrack Room at the Racecourse, which has a fabulous view out over one of York’s iconic sights, Terry’s clock tower:

Terry's Clock Tower, York
Terry’s Clock Tower, York

Of course Terry’s chocolate factory is no more in York, having been bought by Kraft and then shut down. Which reminds me of a poem I wrote recently about Kraft buying up Cadbury’s just last month …

But I digress! I’d like to thank all the ladies at York Women’s Luncheon Club who were so enthusiastic in their appreciation of my Buzzing! show yesterday. I’d also like to thank Ann King and Hazel Hague for their assistance behind the scenes, and Roger King for having sourced a projector for us.

If, for your upcoming after-dinner event, you would like an amusing tour in poetry, music and images of the beautiful pollinators and pest controllers who do so much to put food on our plates, then do get in touch!

Anneliese Emmans Deanwww.theBigBuzz.biz

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.