Let me edu-tain you!

COVID-19 UPDATE: Watch my ‘learning through laughter, rhythm and rhyme’ nature videos, created for you and your kids/pupils, here.

Welcome to theBigBuzz, home of award-winning poet and performer Anneliese Emmans Dean.

(You can find full versions of all the poems in the above video here.)

I’m all about promoting learning through laughter, rhythm and rhyme, wellbeing through words and sustainability through creativity. In normal, pre-COVID times, I would edu-tain you with my acclaimed:

  • poetry shows (for children, for families or for grown-ups)
    • ‘As soon as the show finished, I turned to mummy and said “I wish it could have gone on all day!”’ Alex, age 11, Edinburgh Fringe
    • ‘Your performance was rivetting — breathtakingly good: thank you!’ Professor Tim Birkhead FRS, New Networks for Nature Symposium
    • ‘Absolutely stunning!’ U3A member, Easingwold
    • ‘Hugely enjoyable. I was crying with laughter.’ Jane, York Ornithological Club
  • poetry-meets-science (meets giggles) children’s books (enjoyed by grown-ups too!)
    • ‘***** Likely to be a favourite at home or at school.’ Books for Keeps
    • ‘Glorious … will delight children and young-at-heart adults alike’ The Press
  • primary school visits
    • ‘The best author visit we’ve had.’ St John’s College School, Cambridge
    • ‘Before Anneliese came I didn’t like poems but now I love writing them. It was awesome.’ Thomas, Year 6, Driffield Junior School
    • ‘Every primary school in the UK should book this enjoyable show.’ Ledbury Reporter

But, of course, things have gone virtual over the past year instead.

So, for the time being, I invite you to watch my ‘learning through laughter, rhythm and rhyme’ nature videos, created for you and your kids/pupils, here.

And for those grown-ups amongst you who are mighty tired of our current woes I’m offering you the chance to turn back time and relive the events of 2009, 2010 and 2011 instead, in the form of the Rhymes of the Times shows I put on back then. Audience feedback at the time included one lady who told me that year’s show had ‘Made me forget all my aches and pains!’  May these shows do the same for you. You can find the shows here.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My poetry shows (and optional workshops) are tailored to your event, and are ideal for your festival, theatre, primary school, nursery school, luncheon club, bird group, gardening group, conference, U3A, AGM, botanic garden, environment centre, park, museum, orchard, nature reserveproject launch …  You can even commission me to write a poem specially for your event!

If you’re looking to pep up your photography, I also put on beginners’ photography workshops for grown-ups, families, individuals and also KS2 children in schools. So if, for example, your organisation needs a half-day photography bootcamp, or you’re looking for a photography workshop to give your child as a present, or you’d like your pupils to learn how to take great photos, just get in touch.

‘I just want to say it was EPIC!!! Thank you!!!’ Photography workshop participant

And if you’re feeling musical, check out my eco-musicals, the award-winning Compost! The (mini-)Musical and Go MAD! Make A Difference.

To learn more about what I can offer you, mooch around this site. You can read feedback (from schools, grown-ups and events), watch the videos, check out the About page and scroll through the posts. You’ll see I belong to Equity and the National Association of Writers in Education, am DBS checked and have public liability insurance.

To discuss how I can create a buzz at your event, email me: theBigBuzz@gmail.com

Anneliese Emmans Dean – theBigBuzz – Bringing poetry to life

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.